1. Navigation
  2. Inhalt
  3. Herausgeber

Saxony since 1990

The Free State after Reunification

The Free State is reconstituted in October 1990 after the reunification of Germany. Kurt Biedenkopf of the CDU becomes the first Prime Minister. Two years later, the Free State gets a new constitution. Biedenkopf stands down in April 2002 and is succeeded by Georg Milbradt, also of the CDU. After the state elections in 2004, the CDU and SPD govern in coalition. On May 28, 2008, Milbradt hands over office to his successor Stanislaw Tillich.


October 3, 1990 Following the integration of the GDR into the Federal Republic of Germany and the acceptance of the federal constitution, Saxony becomes a state of the Federal Republic. The Free State is restored.

October 14, 1990 Landtag elections: CDU 92 seats, SPD 32 seats, PDS 17 seats, B’90/Greens 10 seats, FDP 9 seats

November 8, 1990 The Cabinet is sworn in under Prime Minister Kurt Biedenkopf (CDU), elected by the Landtag on October 27.

June 6, 1992 The constitution of the Free State of Saxony takes effect.

September 11, 1994 Elections for the Landtag, now reduced in size, give the following distribution of seats: CDU 77, SPD 22, PDS 21. Kurt Biedenkopf again becomes Saxon Prime Minister.

September 19, 1999 Confirmation of the overall majority of the CDU government under Kurt Biedenkoopf in the Landtag elections: CDU 76, SPD 14, PDS 30.

January 16, 2002 Kurt Biedenkopf resigns as Prime Minister, with effect from April 18th.

April 18, 2002 Georg Milbradt (CDU) is elected Prime Minister of Saxony.

September 19, 2004 The CDU loses its absolute majority in the Landtag elections. A coalition is formed between the CDU and the SPD. Distribution of seats: CDU 55, PDS 31, SPD 13, NPD 12, FDP 7, Greens 6. Georg Milbradt is confirmed as Prime Minister on November 10th.

April 14, 2008 Georg Milbradt announces his resignation as Prime Minister and head of the Saxon CDU with effect from the 24th and 28th of May.

May 28, 2008 Stanislaw Tillich (CDU) becomes the new Prime Minister of the Saxon Free State.

August 30, 2009 Landtag elections with the folowing results: CDU 58, The Left 29, FDP and SPD 14 seats each, Greens 8, NPD 7. A coalition with the FDP is formed. On September 29, 2009 Stanislaw Tillich (CDU) is re-elected Prime Minister.



© Institution